Scott County voters oust sheriff, pick Edds

Holly Viers • Nov 5, 2019 at 9:49 PM

GATE CITY — Based on unofficial results, Republican Jeff Edds came out on top in the four-way race for sheriff in Scott County.

Edds garnered 4,516 votes, more than double that of his closest challenger, independent interim Sheriff Chris Holder, who received 2,202. Greg McMurray and independent Phillip “Tony” McClellan rounded out the field with 438 and 112, respectively.

Sheriff was one of several county offices on the ballot in Tuesday’s general election. Unofficial results of the other races are listed below.

Board of Supervisors

In District 1, Republican incumbent Darrel Jeter defeated Democratic challenger Patricia Kilgore 728-453. District 2 Republican incumbent Marshall Tipton defeated Democrat Maria Colobro 747-416.

Republican Jeremy “George” Herron defeated Democratic incumbent Garland “Jack” Compton 747-499 in the District 3 race. District 4 Republican Michael Brickey and District 5 Republican incumbent Danny Mann were elected after running unopposed.

In District 6, Republican Selma Hood defeated Democratic challenger Jeffrey Sloan 607-339. Republican Stefanie Cruby defeated Democrat E. Dennis Horton 3,747- 2,664 for the at-large seat.

School board

In District 1, incumbent David Mark Templeton defeated Josh Bolling 871-298. District 2 incumbent L. Steve Sallee and District 3 incumbent Linda Gillenwater were both reelected after running unopposed.

Three newcomers fought for the District 4 seat, with William “Bill” Houseright coming out on top with 663 votes. D. Stuart Williams and Karen “KC” Linkous finished with 339 and 218, respectively.

District 5 incumbent Gail McConnell defeated Michael Edwards 623-460. In District 6, Robin Hood defeated incumbent Larry Horton 647-321.

Other offices

Incumbent Republican Debbie Dockery and incumbent Democrat Mitzi Johnson Owens were reelected as commissioner of revenue and treasurer, respectively, after running unopposed. Incumbent Republican Andrew Johnson was reelected as commonwealth’s attorney after also running unopposed.

Four competed in the directors’ race for the Soil & Water Conservation District. James “Pete” Odle received the most votes with 3,460, followed by Billy Nash with 3,112, Larry Huff with 2,144 and Andy White with 2,140.

Special elections

Three special elections were held in conjunction with the general election. Danny Dixon was elected mayor of Nickelsville after running unopposed, and Patrick Deskins was elected mayor of Weber City after also running unopposed.

Joseph Alessandrini and George Lane faced off for a town council seat in Weber City, with Lane defeating Alessandrini 202-122.